Balconies on the south side of the main building were added in 1912-13, to provide patients with more opportunities to benefit from open air.
During the First and Second World Wars The balconies were used to house soldiers who had been injured. The hospital received its first group of 69 men in October 1914; a special Committee for Wounded Soldiers was established, which undertook the work of fixing uniforms and organising appeals for personal items such as games, writing paper and smoking paraphernalia.
While at the hospital, soldiers were often wheeled out onto the balconies so they could experience the fresh sea air.
Image courtesy of Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust.